News - Views - Reviews





Bharat Kalachar fest launched

The 14th anniversary and 15th Margazhi Mahotsav of Bharat Kalachar was inaugurated here at a glittering function last night at the YGP auditorium by noted danseuse Sonal Mansingh. Sonal lighted the traditional lamp to launch the festival proceedings.

She also gave away the Yuva Kala Bharati titles for dance to Lavanya Shankar (Bharatanatyam), Aruna Subbiah (Bharatanatyam), Saraya Sai (Bharatanatyam), Adith Narayanan (all-rounder in Bharatanatyam, Nattuvangam and Choreography), Sailaja (Kuchipudi) and Gopika Varma (Mohini Attam).

Film director K Vishwanath conferred the Nataka Kala Bharati title on noted stage actor A R Srinivasan, and the Seva Kala Bharati title on Ambika Kameshwar, director, RASA. 

Senior vocalist K V Narayanaswamy gave away the Viswa Kala Bharati title to T Viswanathan, former Head of Madras University's Music department and now based in the US. 

Leading playback singer S P Balasubramaniam conferred the titles of Yuva Kala Bharati on K N Shashikiran (vocal), Shubha Ganesan (vocal), S Vijayaraghavan (violin), Neyveli Skandasubramanian (Mridangam), B Ganapathiraman (Mridangam) and Trichy L Saravanan (Flute). P Ganesh (Chitravina) couldn't collect his award in person but Shashikiran collected it for him. Eminent violinist Lalgudi G Jayaraman conferred the titles of Gnana Kala Bharati on film playback singers T M Soundararajan and P B Sreenivos.

Rajalakshmi Parthasarathy, Secretary, Bharat Kalachar, said the festival will provide 70 music and 50 dance programmes by 300 artistes drawn from various fields. These artistes would do a better job at promoting national integration than politicians, she said. Among others who participated in the inauguration were noted stage and film actor Y G Mahendra and Madhuvanthi Arun. The festival will be on till January 6.


Narada Gana Sabha fest opens

The annual Isai, Natya, Nataka Vizha of the Narada Gana Sabha was inaugurated here today by Dr V V Swarnavenkatesa Dikshitar of Chidambaram at an impressive function here. 

A packed Narada Gana Sabha hall applauded as Dikshitar conferred the title of Nadabrahmam on senior vidwan K V Narayanaswamy, and presented the Senior Musician title award to Tiruppontoorti V Venkatesan.

The function was preceded by Nagaswaram from P K M Ravi and party.

Dikshitar and V Venkatesan announced a donation of Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively towards the festival. 

Replying to the felicitations, K V Narayanaswamy and V Venkatesan lauded the efforts of the Narada Gana Sabha and its Secretary R Krishnaswamy in particular in the growth of classical music and art forms in the state.

The inaugural was followed by Kadri Gopalnath's saxophone concert. The festival will be on at the Sathguru Gnanananda Hall of the Narada Gana Sabha till January 2, 2002.


The Parthasarathy Swami Sabha, one of the oldest Sabhas in Chennai has organised a music festival series for the season. The festival series was inaugurated on December 16, 2001 at Vidya Bharati, Mylapore. The title of Sangeeta Kala Sarathy was conferred on Mridangam maestro Umayalpuram K Sivaraman by the Jeer of Sri Ahobila Mutt.


Posted on December 17, 2001



Concert Reviews

Mirch Masala

Lec-dem Schedule

Programme Schedule

List of Awardees

Interviews with Awardees

Interviews with Organisers


Entire MMM 2001 coverage



themehome.jpg (1315 bytes)